The Wrinkly Rambler

Pleasant walks with camera and three dogs

On the East Side of Anglezarke Moor

A few days ago, when I did my walk on the edge of Darwen Moor I noticed what looked like a new path on the east side of Anglezarke Moor that seemed to be heading in the direction of Great Hill.

Looking over towards Darwen Moor, with Cartridge Hill on the horizon top left.

Looking over towards Darwen Moor, with Cartridge Hill on the horizon top left.

When I got home after the walk I took a look at my map and saw that “new” path was in fact shown as a public foorpath, so it appeared was under some kind of refurbishment, possibly with a view to encouraging walkers to use this path rather than the much used (and often very boggy) path a litle farther north. The newly refurbished path met the other path close by the ruins of Pimms farm before continuing up onto the top of Great Hill.

Map of proposed walk.

Map of proposed walk.

So today I went back to the car park on Crookstone Road and set off with my dogs the few hundred yards to the A675 (Bolton to Abbey Village road), where we crossed over and went through a stile to begin a short walk I had plotted out a few days earlier. My intention was to follow the newly surfaced path and, hopefully, make my way to the ruins of Pimms Farm then follow the other path back down to the road and into Roddlesworth Woods before making my way back to the car. In the event the new surface petered out about 2/3rd of the way to the farm ruins and bacame a very narrow dirt path through the tall grass. By that time the weather was beginning to look decidedly murky, with an ominous threat of rain, and as I didn’t fancy getting soaking wet I scuttled off back to the car.

The newly resurfaced path on Anglezarke Moor, with the trees near Pimms Farm in the distance.

The newly resurfaced path on Anglezarke Moor, with the trees near Pimms Farm in the distance.

Looking over towards Darwen Moor, with Cartidge Hill on the horizon top left.

Looking over towards Darwen Moor, with Cartidge Hill on the horizon top left.

Here is a five minute video showing how windy it was, although Brett, Molly and Sam didn’t seem at all bothered as they enjoyed chasing up and down the path.

4 comments on “On the East Side of Anglezarke Moor

  1. knace
    October 2, 2013

    I remember when we visited the Isle of Skye and I asked the owner of our B&B what the rocks hanging from the roofs of houses were for and she said it was to keep the roofs from blowing away. I had no trouble believing it. The wind howled all night.

    • Mal Firth
      October 2, 2013

      One thing I can usually rely on when I go onto the moors is that it will be windy and about 5degC colder than in the town. I don’t think it will be long before I start digging out my wooly hat and my gloves.

  2. Midwestern Plant Girl
    October 5, 2013

    Looks like a great place to hike and bring the fur children! They looked like they were having a blast… One smells a spot, then the other, then the other… then run as fast as you can! Funny.
    I love the names of the area here, very simple like brown hill, great hill… Easy to remember. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Mal Firth
      October 5, 2013

      Yes, Molly in particular had great fun charging about in the heather with Brett following along hoping he could snatch whatever it was she had in her mouth.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2013 by in Diary and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 6,433 hits

My Community

