The Wrinkly Rambler

Pleasant walks with camera and three dogs

Walk to Lead Mines Clough

I had intended going for a walk near White Coppice this afternoon, but when I got just past the Anglezarke Reservoir embankment on Knowsley Road the road was closed. Instead, I decided that as I hadn’t been to Lead Mines Clough for at least a couple of months, I would walk the dogs to there. So I parked on Knowsley Read and with Brett, Molly and Sam, walked past Yarrow Reservoir and on to Allance Bridge then into Lead Mines Clough.

Map of the route.

Map of the route.

The path up to Yarrow Reservoir.

The path up to Yarrow Reservoir.

Brett and Sam lurking in the woods on the way to Allance Bridge.

Brett and Sam lurking in the woods on the way to Allance Bridge.

It looks like United Utilities are draining Yarrow Reservoir for some reason, possibly to repair a leak.

It looks like United Utilities are draining Yarrow Reservoir for some reason, possibly to repair a leak.

Brett, Molly and Sam playing in Limestone Brook in Lead Mines Clough.

Brett, Molly and Sam playing in Limestone Brook in Lead Mines Clough.

One of three footbridges over Limestone Brook in Lead Mines Clough.

One of three footbridges over Limestone Brook in Lead Mines Clough.

Molly, Brett and Sam waiting for me to throw a stick. Looks like Molly had rolled in something "interesting" (and probably smelly). Fortunately it washed off when she had a swim in the brook.

Molly, Brett and Sam waiting for me to throw a stick. Looks like Molly had rolled in something “interesting” (and probably smelly). Fortunately it washed off when she had a swim in the brook.

A rare view of Allance Bridge with hardly any water flowing under it.

A rare view of Allance Bridge with hardly any water flowing under it.

3 comments on “Walk to Lead Mines Clough

  1. knace
    October 16, 2013

    Beautiful.
    We’ve had 7 straight days of overcast drizzle and rain here, which is very unusual for North Carolina. I’m having flashbacks of North Yorkshire. =)

    • Mal Firth
      October 16, 2013

      Our weather is a bit up and down at the moment; one day rain, one day nice, one day windy and cold, another day calm and warmer. But we are gradually heading towards autumn and winter. Yesterday was overcast but dry, today is wet and windy. We have snow forecast for next month and the prospect of a cold and snowy winter. Soon be Christmas. 😉

  2. Marilyn Clarke
    October 19, 2013

    Hi Mal,

    Hope your roof is still on with the thunderstorm we had this afternoon. I have been with a friend of mine who is disabled, who I have known for many years I’ve probably mentioned him to you. He lives on Chorley New Road and has a staffie, he is a lovely dog nearly 16 years of age, and he has had to be put down. I managed to get him into my car, and of course his owner Brian was very upset so I stayed while they put him down. I was so upset too, havent seen anything put down before. I thought about Moss, he went very peacfull but was so upsetting. I have just rung to see if Brian is ok. has taken it much better than I would have done, but there was no other option. I hope you get your roof done soon as lots more rain is forcast, let me know how you get on. Only had a short walk today as Moss is still limping, but had a dose of Metacam and is now reclining with paws up in the air on my best suite. full of sardines (life’s hell isn’t it ) ha.

    speak soon

    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 6,287 hits

My Community

